How Many States Recognize Civil Unions?

by Beverly A. Pekala on January 22, 2013

The answer is 8….at least, as of today. The states which recognize civil unions are:

Delaware, Vermont, New Hampshire, Connecticut, New Jersey, Rhode Island, and
Hawaii and Illinois.
But not so fast. Like most laws, this isn’t as simple as it sounds. For example, in Vermont, same-sex marriage was passed in 2009, so civil unions are no longer available there. However, civil unions entered into prior to the legalization of same-sex marriage in Vermont do remain valid.
Best advice? Speak with an attorney in your state to learn the options available for your particular situation.

Related Posts:

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: