Same Sex Marriage

by Beverly A. Pekala on June 2, 2014

Today’s the day. Well, to be technical, yesterday was the day. Same-sex marriage became legal in each of Illinois’ 102 counties on June 1, 2014. But yesterday happened to be a Sunday, so today marriage licenses will begin to issue throughout the entire state and many same-sex couples are expected to tie the knot today.  
The full name of the law authorizing gay marriage in Illinois is the Illinois Religious Freedom and Marriage Fairness Act.  A long name for a simple idea. Before this new law became effective, both same-sex and opposite sex couples in Illinois could enter into civil unions. They still can if they wish, although it is anticipated couples will choose marriage over civil unions.
As of today, same-sex couples can marry in 19 states as well as Washington D.C. The 19 states are California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Iowa, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Washington.

Related Posts:

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: