Which States Have Legal Same-Sex Marriage?

by Beverly A. Pekala on September 25, 2014

It’s confusing, right? People ask me which states have legalized gay marriage and if it’s not already legal,people would like to know when it is likely to become legal in their state. 
The good news is I can answer the first question and tell you where it’s legal now:
19 states have legalized same-sex marriage. They are:
California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico,  New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Washington.
Same sex marriage is also legal in Washington DC.
As for the question of when gay marriage is likely to become legal in the remaining 31 states, I’m not psychic(though I do have my moments), but here’s a hint. Next month the US Supreme Court will consider seven different cases which deal with the subject of gay marriage, so I suspect we’ll know more soon. Stay tuned.   

Related Posts:

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: